Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 59–60

    Hamburg! But first a Lüneburg side trip

    September 29, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    After way too many years, today I finally got to see Svenja! There was no way I’d go to Europe without visiting her. She picked me up at the airport and we were both cried so many tears of joy when we finally hugged! So much happiness! 🤍

    I thought I’d be spending more days in Hamburg but it ended up being a shorter stay and I’d already promised Meik I’d visit him in Lüneburg, so I went there in the evening evening.

    We first drove to Svenja’s home so I could meet her family and we had a couple hours to catch up before they dropped me off at the train station. 🚊

    Who knew German trains being late was a thing!?!? A very regular thing! ⏰

    When I got to Lüneburg, Meik was waiting for me at the station and straight away he suggested we go on a walk to catch the sunset over the town. Walking together was kinda like being on the Camino again and the city was so so beautiful! And I got so many historical and architectural insights along the way. 🥾

    After 10k steps to the lookout followed by 4km in pouring rain, we made it to his house where a beautiful German dinner and beers awaited me! It was all delicious and he even took the time to design a menu describing everything we were feasting on and where everything was sourced. Most importantly, we enjoyed hours of fascinating conversation as is always the case with Meik! 🍻

    In the morning, there was perfectly brewed coffee and we shared a wholesome brekkie before I returned to Ahrensburg hoping we’d get to meet sometime again in the future! 🤗
    Read more