Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 96

    Perfectly in time for a short rhyme

    March 22, 2020 in Tanzania ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    I arrive at 1,810 m just in time for the sunset! A dog approaches and whispers something with a ladyish voice in Polish to me. Wahhhhoo, whoat? Okay, behind the fur there is the lodge's owner hiding :D

    The village of Mambo killed my time schedule because its "roads" are so narrow and washed out that some locals had to bend a wooden fence in order for me to get through and at the end they even had to lift the protruding roof of a house because of my stuff on the rack. We all had fun =)

    Shortly after arrival I get an e-mail from the German embassy in Dar that the Foreign Office organised two retrieval flights for Tuesday afternoon. One from Mombasa and one from Zanzibar. If I wanted to get out of the country, I would have to decide until tomorrow morning. Mombasa is closer but the border impenetrable. And what would happen with the car? Cheese!
    Read more