Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 383

    Holy Holili

    January 3, 2021 in Kenya ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Only customs pending! They accepted my German Covid test certificate and I got the East African Visa (valid also for Uganda). For tourists arriving by plane the Covid test must not be older than 96 hours. But for land border crossers it is valid 14 days. I didn't know that really in advance, just got the hint two days ago and hoped that I can successfully argue my way through even though I outstayed by "a few days". Wanted to be here yesterday but this obviously didn't work out due to the broken bridge. What do we learn again? One, two or three days don't make any difference and calmness always wins. Just play with the people and float with the tide. Mission accomplished.
    This is a wonderful "one stop" border post even though you have two stops. Around holidays and Covid prime time there is nothing going on here. Super easy! I even got assigned my personal clearing agent Anne, a sweet little Kenyan girl. She currently organises insurance, road tax and the carnet papers for me. I should invite her for lunch =)
    Read more