Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 399

    Chalbi Desert

    January 19, 2021 in Kenya ⋅ ⛅ 42 °C

    The night was unexpectedly cold and windy and I start with a sour throat. After descending from Marsabit down to around 500 m I choose an alternative, rarely used track parallel to the main road C82 which gives me additional 45 km of Chalbi Desert beauties. It is around three weeks after the last rains and I still encounter 2-3 muddy but short sections. Speeding though with 60-80 kph works well but I do not want to know how it would look like in fresh mud here in the middle of nowhere. Temperatures rise up to 42 °C. In the middle of the desert my air condition stops working. Haha! The evening in Kalacha is dry, hot and windy. I hoped for a calm evening but at the campsite I am disturbed by three different parties all coming to me and asking for money. School children, a drunk "head of security". One other guy stays the whole evening, pretends to be my best friend and each 20 minutes he invents a new story why I should support him. In the end we discuss over 100-1000 $ in order to support him finishing his studies. Sure, just take my soul.Read more