Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 402

    Sele Gublo Pass

    January 22, 2021 in Kenya ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Through Dukana I opt for the “seasonal” track along Ethiopia’s border. It takes me back into mountain area. I like that! For two days I did not meet any other vehicle. Barely any people around, just some herdsmen with camels. Again I am in the right place at the right moment and shortly after crossing the Sele Gublo Pass, before descending into the vast river valley, I turn off the track into the open, stony bush to find a nice wild camping spot at the ridge with a view of the sunset between two hills. After a very peaceful night without wind I get visited by a swarm of friendly wild bees in the morning who drink of the water at my washing place. For over an hour I supply and watch them. They manage to drain the cap of a yoghurt cup within a few minutes. When a bee falls into the pot of water, 1-2 others come to assist. They form a pontoon, move to the side wall and crawl on top of each other in order to continue with their business. Only three old- and weak-looking bees of the few hundreds drawn but the hive lives on. Every single drop matters. Wonderful!Read more