Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 402

    Ileret

    22. Januar 2021 in Kenia ⋅ ☁️ 36 °C

    I reach Ileret and its sandy surroundings and with that the final destination of my current trip: Lake Turkana! 42 °C, strong humid wind from the lakeside, a punch in my face. The water is warm, interestingly smelly, slightly salty and has a soapy texture. After having crossed Gabbra territory here the tribe calls itself Dassanach. The cattle is drinking and locals are bathing so obviously no crocodiles around. Hopefully! Anyway, it was an awesome trip up here, so I would categorize an unplanned encounter with a croc as "the real African adventure" and would not have any reason to complain ;-) The locals dry Tilapia, Nile Perch and Catfish in order to export it into the country. The children rip dried chunks off the fish and chew on it like on leather. I park in a dry riverbed under a tree for the night and enjoy the sunset with distant rain. The whole evening and morning I have a crew of local kids around.Weiterlesen