Satellite
Show on map
  • Getting things ready

    December 12, 2021 in Tanzania ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    "Pole pole" - as Tanzanians in the Swahili region would say - I start to get my things ready for another road trip. This time I want to not hurry and to concentrate solely on Tanzania. This country is sooo damn big and, apart from the main tourist attractions, has plenty of other spectacular spots to offer. The rainy season might boycott some of my yet unmade plans though.

    Over a week I need at Eckhard's place for arriving with my sould, servicing my car, visiting friends, people, neighbours and eating myself through the varieties of street foodi around the corner.

    With the new president many things already changed. Even though the nation celebrates 60 years of independence with positive retrospectives all over the place, the newspapers are again allowed to criticize and to post suggestions for improvements. They chew on the dualistic education system, on gender-based violence, on challenges in the agricultural sector, they report about road network extensions having massive impacts on the ecosystem, they bring specials about nature conservation efforts and they manage to give a good overview about which consequences this whole COVID thing has for eastern Africa.
    Read more