Satellite
Show on map
  • Calm night at a lakeside

    December 23, 2021 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    I leave Mambo View Point before Christmas, otherwise I will get stuck there again 😅
    My further journey will take me to Arusha where I want to meet Thomas and two other overlanders from Germany. This encounter has a purpose which I will not yet reveal.

    First, I have to get down from my cozy nest. On the way from MVP I stop in Lushoto at Usambara Sisters to buy cheese and yummy jam. In Same I stop for lunch and then follow the sun westerly off the main road to dammed lake Nyumba ya Mungu. It turns out to be a beautiful area for a wild camp! The soil is ashy and light grey and the dirt road nicely drivable like calmly rocking waves with a sailing boat. Great warm light promises a golden evening. I can drive with my car directly down to the waterline and find a windless spot behind thorny bushes. In the near distance Kilimanjaro shows his slightly powdered cap. Fishermen visit me and one of them stays for dinner. I share German Pumpernickel with Lushoto chees with him while we watch the setting sun. It is a warm night.

    For sunrise I join the fisherboys at the waterfront. They worked the whole night while I was in slumber. Strong ladies come all the way from the village to serve them chai and uji (banana porridge). They are shy to be photographed, such as are most of the Tanzanians. But one of them poses for me. I call her The Boss because she definitely emits the strongest confidence. All other ladies break out in laughter. A motorbike guy appears. The fisherers load a big and dripping sack of little fish on his back and off he drives. Great white egrets are already waiting nearby for the leftovers. While I flirt with the ladies the fisherboys sink into the sand, close their eyes and drift away. This is when I start my day.
    Read more