Satellite
Show on map
  • Happy new year!

    January 1, 2022 in Tanzania ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    After the hike I just chill around with Thomas and do some digital stuff. We recorded some new tracks and picnic sites around the summit and also have to correct wrong information in the map. I show him how this basically works in OpenStreetMap. As the afternoon progresses he just invites me to stay over new year. His wife prepared very fancy pilau for us with beef, greens, beans and habanero-infused tomato salad. Oh I love their discreetly spicy pilipili culture here! I sponsor the beers and we watch our pictures of the hike with the family on my tablet. After our summit night we are both so "done" that we go to bed long before midnight 😁.

    The next day after plenty of ginger tea I drive Thomas to Haydom where he wants to meet his daughters from his previous marriage. We meet some of his friends in the evening, I stay at a guest house and leave the next morning.
    Read more