Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21–22

    Bats

    November 26, 2023 in Tanzania ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    This mountain range is wonderful! From one valley to the other I climb narrow and steep tracks which aren't mapped anywhere. 1300 m, 2100 m and down on 1500 m again. Then repeat. High up on the ridges you could basically camp everywhere. And from each ridge you can make out the faint course of the next track already.

    My day ends in a nice quarry, shielded from the road. There is a small bird singing cheerfully which drives me crazy because it hides so well that I never manage to spot it. Also, wherever I walk, I see other big dark birds with red wing tips fleeing and hiding quickly. No chance to get a clear view!

    At dusk, I suddenly notice strange sounds above my head. Thousands of huge bats are migrating down from higher altitudes into the valleys. They fly very low over my car where they catch thick bugs in a looping and continue. This spectacle last for more than 20 minutes!
    Read more