Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41–42

    Flat and wild

    December 16, 2023 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Strange region here between Mpanda and Tabora. Perfect new tar road but barely any traffic. Nearly all of the 360 km lead through wild and untouched forest, except for a few settlement clearings.

    On a wide and open earth pit I find my peace next to a rotten tree which still burns surprisingly well. The red soil is interesting. It consists of porous chunks of tiny pebble-like volcanic stones with a huge amount of iron. When zooming out, I find myself surrounded by bigger chunks of round, grassy elephant dung 🤔. Shortly after nightfall, while enjoying this morning's baked bread, now smoke-toasted in the fire with salted butter, I hear very familiar "who-oop" calls coming from the distant forest edge. So, which scavengers might be announcing their night visit here 😁?
    🫣
    Read more