Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Exploring Quito

    June 15, 2023 in Ecuador ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    I started planning my next few days, trips to do and it all depended on the transport out of Quito. With my large backpack, I don't feel safe on public transport which is high risk for theft. The tourist transport I was relying on isn't operating, the other one which is 10 times the price is, but only in 10 days (I really don't want to stay in Quito that long). So, another frustrated morning of scuppered plans and back and forth emails.

    I forgot to mention that Quito is really high altitude. Many tourists get mild to moderate altitude sickness, especially if they start hiking straight away after arrival. I have been lucky with that.

    I decided to do a free walking tour run by another hostel in the hope that I might meet some other travellers. That hostel is a completely different vibe from where I am staying which is a modest, family run affair which caters more for itinerant locals than backpackers. Not a criticism, just an observation, which is only relevant because I am solo.

    The walking tour was great, I felt much safer and more comfortable in the group and saw some of the city's beautiful architecture. I bought some banana passion fruit which is a passion fruit that looks like a banana.

    Another thing, I haven't got the hand of the food yet. I usually like street food if it is not meat or fried. But I haven't found cheap eats like rice and beans. I should lose some weight! I have had one meal of plantain and egg and just fruit in 3 days. I don't want to / can't afford to go into tourist restaurants because the prices are surprisingly high. After doing the walking tour on an empty stomach, I became desperate and went into a locals restaurant. Five times the price of street food, but half the price of tourist food.

    I had a cheese and potato soup called Locra which was lovely and so I then couldn't eat the chicken empanada which I have brought home for breakfast tomorrow.
    Read more