Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Penang

    May 25, 2018 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌙 26 °C

    I can breathe!!! Yes it's hot but there is a breeze!!! I'm so happy I can't even explain how happy. We had a lie in and then went for brunch cake as recommended by Zara. Oh my goodness the cake, the amount of cake, the smell, the taste, the everything. They even had table cloth which was drawing paper and crayons on the table. I decided to get into the street art and draw Will. I'm proud of my drawing but he thinks it's awful. I'll let you be the real judges... So I don't mean to be harsh but it's quite obvious why people are, let's say larger than the Vietnamese. The food is sooo different here. They use fats, mostly Chinese, Thai and Indian food and they have luxury items like cakes, chocolate etc everywhere and their portion size is double the size than in Vietnam! People were easily around 40-50kg in Vietnam... Let's say they are definitely double that here! Maybe I'm going to gain that 2 inches back on my waist hehe After a bit of research I feel a bit better, Malaysia has the highest obesity in South East Asia.

    In the afternoon we decided to head out with our street art map and find all the locations (52) via a few other sights. I'm loving Penang more and more with every corner I turn. The street art is pretty interesting, it has some interesting building, sights, its an island so has a seaside, its got super cool coffee shops but it seems they just don't sell food when and where we want it. We have a food map and everytime we try and go to a place it's closed. It's now 4:30pm and I can't believe we've tried 4 must go places and they are all shut. Now it is Ramadan, but I didn't think everywhere would be shut in such a big city... Just to top it off the heavens have opened again. We finally found a Ramadan Bazaar and had somosas and bhajias, worth the wait!!! 😊 Being the Brits that we are we were determined to carry on the street art tour in the pouring rain. It was fun but eventually got so wet and tired we took refuge in a cafe before meeting some friends for a beer. As there were 5 of us it was cheaper to get a Beer Tower! Super cool!

    The next day we went for Penang Laksa (a bit too fishy for my taste buds), Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Hill and then carried on our little tour around the street art. In the evening it rained again but we powered on through the final foodie on the list Passembeur. I honestly don't know how to describe it. It's lots of deep fried but not very crispy fish cut up into bitesize pieces with cucumber drowned in a sticky sweet goo. I wouldn't say it was offensive, I ate it, but it just wasn't great. But all Malaysians seem to love it so hey what do I know!

    In the morning we got up bright and early for a quick breakfast before heading out to the ferry. I swear Malaysia hates us. Nothing was open! Not even our supposedly 24hours open restaurant attached to our hotel! 7Eleven for a croissant then... Will had been pretty nervous about the ferry being too bouncy and making him sick but it was great and pretty smooth! We watched Pirates of the Caribbean and Avengers along the way 😊 Next stop, time to relax and finally have beach time, Langkawi!
    Read more