Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    A typical lazy day... For us!

    November 1, 2018 on the Philippines ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    So after our 38 hour travel to get here it was obviously going to be a slow start to the morning. We slept off and on till 10:30am, but could easily have done with a couple more hours. We had fried eggs, bacon and toast for breakfast with our homestay family. During breakfast May, the mother, just kept staring at me and at one point apologised and said "I'm so sorry, I'm so star struck by your beauty". This has happened a lot in the Asian countries we've been to. It seems like the Indian look is really adored, something about the shape of our eyebrows?? I have no idea! Eventually we got out, after moving very slowly, at about 1pm.

    Jeeze what a difference in temperature, we are back in sweaty land. I can't blink without sweating endlessly. Within 2 seconds of leaving the house we were both fully drenched. When your knees and elbows start sweating you know its hot!

    Today's plan is to do a self guided city tour which included the following: Fort San Pedro, Plaza Independencia,Malacañang sa Sugbo, Magellan’s Cross, Basilica Minore del Santo Niño de Cebu, Cebu Metropolitan Cathedral, Cathedral Museum of Cebu, Rajah Humabon Monument, Colon Obelisk, Heritage of Cebu Monument, Jesuit House of 1730, Yap-San Diego Ancestral House, Casa Gorordo Museum. Along the way Will found a burger stall selling burgers for 28 pesos. That's 40p! And it was Get One Take One, so he got 2 burgers for 40p. I question the meat content but it was substance. As it was a Bank Holiday for All Saints day a lot of the places were closed, but it lasted a pleasant enough time to feel shattered, but enough time to not rush round everything.

    As we finished by 4:30pm we decided to walk Ayala Mall where we can try the famous Lechon, suckling pig, and finally get some free cash at the HSBC cash machine (the only one on the whole island that is free for foreigners). On the way we found a department store with super cheap clothes, finally I can get some tshirts which fit me! All my clothes are 2 sizes too big... I know you're probably thinking why didn't I just get some new ones from the UK when I came back? Well I bought 2 new tshirts and some sunglasses (yes I broke them again, wups) for £2.80. That's why!

    Initially we were thinking of getting one of the really fun looking buses they have here but in the end for ease we walked. The main reason I like to walk around places is because you really see and feel the true side. It is very clear that you are either unbelievably rich or horrifically poor, with little in between. Although technically GDP wise it is not the poorest country we have visited it really feels like it. There are so many homeless people on the streets and hygiene doesn't really seem like a thing here, adults and children are covered in dirt. It's so sad to know that the Philippines is for most people seen as paradise and therefore on most people's bucket list when actually for the locals it feels like poverty. When I was talking to my hairdresser in Taiwan I remember talking to her about going to the Philippines and she was from here too. She was saying that if people get the chance to leave them they do and the only jobs they can get are as cleaners or a like because if you're Philipino you are seen as very very low in class.

    The walk was about an hour long, but luckily it was much cooler now, well 28 degrees 😂 First stop was the House of Lechon and it seemed quite posh so we were worried it would be expensive but as we were due a We got 1/2kg of Spicy Lechon, 2 garlic rice, a vegetable dish and 2 mango shakes. The food was way more than needed, really tasty, Will must have had 2 full sized portions and me 1 and the total bill came to £14. I think we have finally come back to the real asia.

    Here they call everyone Ma'am and Sir, which at first I thought "Ooo I'm not old!", but it's becoming quite cute.

    Finally after dinner we went to pick up our cash and then walked home. I can't believe how drenched we must have looked when we got in. It looked like we'd been rained on haha
    Read more