Satellite
Show on map
  • Hello Singapore... AGAIN!

    November 16, 2018 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    As my brother is visiting Singapore we decided to take a weekend break to Singapore before heading to India.

    Up we got and when researching which terminal we fly from we found out about a terminal fee that foreigners have to pay. We haf the exact amount of cash if we didn't buy breakfast or lunch. Each ATM transaction costs £3.50 apart from at a HSBC bank. We decided to get a quick breakfast and then ask our taxi driver to go via the bank. And he kindly did! I must admit this hidden terminal fee has left quite a sour feeling in us as its not a small fee but actually quite high and you can only pay in cash. I can imagine there being quite a panic at the airport with people who didn't know about it.

    Luckily all was OK when we got to the airport. On arrival we had exactly 47 pesos remaining, so obviously we had to pay the airport. Unfortunately we were flying out of a brand new terminal and the number of shops was very limited and ridiculously expensive (even compared to European standards). The only shop I thought we might be able to get something was WH Smiths but it was so new there were no prices on anything so I went to the checkout and just asked what I could buy. The lady said I could buy a packet of crisp for 50 pesos... I said I literally only have 47. She then said I could get mentos, but again they were 50 pesos. This time she replied with oh don't worry about the 3 and happily handed over a packet of mentos! What generosity!

    When waiting for our flight I looked at my skin and I was all of a sudden absolutely covered in dry skin. I looked like a snake shedding it's coat. It was so bizarre and to be honest I was pretty worried. Luckily I was going to Singapore and I'd be able to get some treatment if needed.

    The flight was pretty standard and we chatted to a guy from Nottingham who was sat with us, which helped the time passby. Within no time we were in Singapore!

    As we've flown here a couple of times now it kind of feels like home when we arrive. First stop was an emergency stop at the pharmacy and then we headed to Amber's flat to meet Viraf. It was so nice to see them again 😊

    For dinner we obviously went to our favourite place, Little India, for an enormous Paper Dosa and then Gulab Jamun for dessert.
    Read more