Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Muros de Nalõn to Soto de Luina, Spain

    September 19, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 59 °F

    Fantastic day. Only 10 miles through farmland, forests, very little road walking and only minor ups and downs. No mountains to conquer today figuratively or physically. We arrived in a little village with basic services and we are both happy to have had a shorter, not so strenuous day. A little respite for our bodies so hopefully they keep carrying us through. Our feet may not go on strike after blessing them with today and tomorrow being easier distances. The albergue we were at last night had a little breakfast so we had that before setting out in the misty fog. So happy to have a good cup of coffee before getting started. We passed by a church (of course!) before heading out on the trail, that in the fog, looked so mysterious to me. It reminded me of the mysteries of faith. The divinely revealed truth about grace, redemption, and forgiveness in Christ. Perfect timing for me to recognize and contemplate this. Yesterday revealed something I hadn’t really processed and I have come to believe I need to find forgiveness in my heart, for my own peace. What’s done is done and I am a firm believer that all of the things good and bad, made me who I am today, and I think I’m alright and have done ok…as long as I don’t have to hike in the rain hahaha!
    Small towns are so easy to get in and out of, arrows and shells were visible and plentiful. The terrain was difficult in spots with lots of roots, rocks and mud puddles to dodge, unfortunately this means head down for proper foot placement, which was hard to do in such a beautiful place. The forest kept us cool before spitting us out into the sun for a little road walking a couple times. No cafe stops for coffee today, but we found a bench a couple kilometers before the end that we had a snack on and laughed at the mooing cows that sounded like they were talking to each other in the field next to us. It was a beautiful setting. The hills and fields are in high definition green, with no signs of autumn until entering the forests and the stark contrast of the changing colors of shedding leaves blanketing the ground we are walking on. The trees are starting to show me just how beautiful and lovely it is to let things go. 🍁
    Read more