Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Back in the hotel

    June 9, 2018 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    A great evening!!! We landed at 8.30 at Bilbao airport and got the bus in to the centre. Kent and I both totally chickened out with our Spanish and just asked for tickets in English, having no actual idea what stop we needed for our hotel.
    We finally got off at Plaza Moyua and walked for 30 mins (uphill!!!!) to our hotel.

    It’s not the best of starts as I have discovered two liars today....
    1) the weather people who have been adamant that it would be raining WITH thunderstorms from 9 onwards (which means my jeans + backpack + hill to hotel + hot muggy weather = sweaty Becca). I promptly changed into a dress to cool down
    and 2) all the trip advisor reviews who said that our hotel was in a central and convenient location.... it’s not.

    We went out to grab a beer and found a place with a band outside. We/I tried out our/my Spanish “Do you take credit card?” The reply was a definite no and then some nonsense about a tortilla which neither of us understood, so off we went to find some cash. Found cash and walked back to the pub when the heavens decided to open....

    We ordered ‘dos cervezas, por favor’ and I pointed to the only beer I recognised... Amstel, only to find that it was ale. Grim. Mental European pub with locals doing wine and beer shots.
    Read more