Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Singapore: Prologue

    September 18, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    In general, I return to Singapore at least once every year. This time round, I scheduled a longer than usual stay anticipating that I may need to take care of certain family logistics, but it turned out we did not need to put these plans in place yet. But, this left me with a fair bit of time on my hands. Even after I cut short my stay by four days to make a trip up to Angkor Wat, I still needed to find ways to occupy myself. Because I grew up in Singapore, there isn't much that I haven't already seen and done. So, I assigned myself a small project: I would seek out sites from Atlas Obscura, and blog about them.

    Singapore currently has 57 entries in the Atlas Obscura. Because the listings are user-created, some of them are actually pretty mainstream (Gardens by the Bay... really?), so they should be treated with a grain of salt. Prior to this trip, I had been to about a dozen of the sites. I resolved to add a couple more during this trip. I also resolved to use public transport as much as I could to visit these sites.
    Read more