Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Robot Restaurant

    March 18, 2018 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 14 °C

    Soon after my arrival, we made our way to Robot Restaurant in nearby Kabukicho. I went to Robot Restaurant in September last year. Jeff was mildly upset that I had gone without him, so I atoned for this transgression by taking him there.

    Our evening started in the lounge area, which we entered just as the lounge singer, who was accompanied by a guitarist wearing a robot suit, completed her act. I told Jeff to check out the bathroom, which was all gold. After a few minutes of waiting, the guests were herded downstairs through an extremely gaudy stairway and seated for the floor show.

    Three of the four parts of the floor show weren’t the same as what I saw in September. The show started with an opening act featuring a parade of robots, dancers, and drummers, followed by a bizarre act of animal robots versus an invading alien race, followed by the third act known as King Robota (which was the only act that was repeated from last September), and finally a closing act once again featuring a parade of robots and dancers played to Uptown Funk and their signature “Roboto” ditty.

    Jeff’s reaction to all this? He said the whole act seemed as if it had been created by sexually repressed, ADHD-afflicted teenagers who had been given a big budget to create a cabaret. That’s why we love Tokyo. I don’t understand what is going on around me most of the time, but I am bewildered in the best possible way.

    https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/kabukicho-r…

    https://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Japan/Tokyo/blo…
    Read more