Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Singapore

    November 12, 2019 in Singapore ⋅ 31 °C

    The main reason for this trip was to help my dad recover from surgery. As such, I didn’t do much in Singapore. I took my parents to a couple of doctor appointments, ran errands, and mitigated various trip and slip hazards in their condo. I did see a couple of friends but I did not do much else.

    Apart from National University Hospital where my dad was being treated, I also accompanied a classmate to her chemotherapy appointment at Tan Tock Seng Hospital. I’ve not spent a lot of time in hospitals but I was blown away by what I saw. Both hospitals were well designed and they had retail and food outlets seamlessly designed into their overall layout. Settling my dad’s bill was easy and painless. Healthcare in Singapore seems to be in a class of its own.

    There was one high point of my time there, though. Because I had turned 50 earlier in the year, I was no longer liable for reserve service. I gleefully drove to the nearest army camp and deposited my old uniform and equipment in the drop box there. I did bring home a couple of keepsakes, including my beret, one shirt, my OCS polo shirt, and my rank insignias.
    Read more