Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    To Casa Barbadelo

    October 6, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    October 6

    We climbed a lot early this morning (much of it in the dark) and then descended steeply. Alan’s knees decided not to work correctly for a bit after so much downhill 😂 Thankfully, after a breakfast stop, they were back to normal. 👍🏻

    We arrived in Sarria just in time for a hamburger lunch which tasted SO good! I always am hopeful for a perfect serving of french fries, but they are never crispy enough for me. I’m craving some Smitty’s extra crispy fries with Gillham sauce. 😋 Pretty much, I’m craving anything salty because the afternoon heat causes me to sweat so much.

    I finally took a picture of some chestnuts today. For days and days we have been walking under the trees or by them and the chestnuts are everywhere. I’ve even almost rolled an ankle on a few. We’ve also seen a lot of acorns which we found out are loved by goats.

    We are staying a couple of miles past Sarria at a place called Casa Barbadelo. The final mile to here was rough because they had just fertilized the fields with manure, and that combined with the heat was not pleasant. 😂

    Happy Moment - This place has Diet Pepsi!!! Woohoo! I haven’t had one in over a month and have had to resort to Coke Zeros.

    Tomorrow, we walk to Portomarin. 68 miles to go.
    Read more