Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Dar es Salaam

    January 6, 2023 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    After my nice "holiday" in Zanzibar it was time to move onto the mainland of Tanzania which is called Tanganyika. As expected the process for boarding the ferry was absolute chaos, and then the process for reclaiming your luggage was even worse, but I eventually made it into Dar es Salaam.

    If I could describe Dar es Salaam in one word it would be noisy! This city is large, loud, busy, hot, humid, and chaotic, and I just loved wandering the streets. There wasn't a whole lot of sightseeing to do so most of my time was spent running errands such as booking bus and train tickets, and buying essentials. Each task was a massive job as I had to tackle the local transport system with no route maps or timetable information available, but I had a lot of fun just winging it by asking around and just getting lost, often with a bus full of people laughing at the "mzungu" on the wrong bus. Luckily there were always a few people kind enough and with enough English to help me out and point me in the right direction.
    Read more