Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Nungwi

    December 31, 2022 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Another week of disgustingly beautiful beach photos I'm afraid! For my final week in Zanzibar I was in Nungwi on the northern tip of the island, mostly swimming and attempting to hide from the sun. I visited a turtle sanctuary where I couldn't believe the size of some of them, or the colours of their shells. There was an option to swim with them but seeing the colour of the water I politely declined, I didn't fancy getting some rare turtle pathogen!

    Nungwi is also where I saw in the new year as I watched the final sunset and then went to a BBQ at the hostel. They perfectly cooked a whole tuna wrapped in banana leaf, as well as some other delicious Swahili dishes and some great cocktails. After that we went to the beach to watch an incredible fireworks display from probably way too close, especially when they started misfiring! Lots of fun though, there must have been thousands on the beach. Then we had to top it off with some fully clothed midnight swimming, a great start to 2023!
    Read more