Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57

    Zambia to Namibia

    February 7, 2023 in Namibia ⋅ 🌧 21 °C

    After seeing Vic Falls in Zimbabwe I decided that I wanted to head straight to Namibia, which meant heading back to Zambia again as that was the best way to get there by public transport. Despite the fact that it was the best route, it still took about 7 hours to travel 200 km by bus as the road was so bad we were just creeping along, barely avoiding the craters in the road! After that arduous journey a friend and I decided to stay the night at the Namibian border town before I tackled the night bus to Windhoek. We found a cute lodge on the Zambezi with the crocs and hippos, and enjoyed the last of the fantastic thunder and lightning storms that we'd be seeing for a while as we were about to head into the desert for a couple of weeks.

    I spent a day in Windhoek before heading to Swakopmund on the coast, a quiet town with a cool vibe and interesting architecture. Travellers tend to gather in Swakop before heading off into the wilderness so it was a good chance to meet some people and have a bit of fun. I took in some of the local sights such as Sandwich harbour where the Namib desert meets the sea, and Walvis Bay bay where hundreds of lesser flamingos gather. I also did a sky dive which is unlike anything I had ever experienced before! Not quite sure what I was thinking, it goes against your every survival instinct, but now I just want to do it again asap! And the views of the dunes from up there was incredible!
    Read more