Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Victoria Falls

    January 27, 2023 in Zimbabwe

    Victoria Falls is about as awe inspiring as you'd imagine, the sound and spray that comes off it is amazing! Kind of explains why the traditional name is Mosi oa Tunya, a.k.a. "the smoke that thunders"! You could see the tower of spray for miles around, and when you're next to it it's like standing in a rain shower. Once I'd seen the falls from the Zambian side, I crossed to the Zimbabwe side to see it from there too, as that side is said to have a better view. Between border posts myself and my friend Laure decided to zip-line across the canyon that makes the border, because why not! The views were beautiful but it was over too soon!
    When on the Zimbabwe side I spent some time sight-seeing in the town with my friend Simon before he was heading off to Harare, and he managed to negotiate a bargain deal on a helicopter ride so despite my fear of helicopters I went along for the ride, and I'm really glad I did! Aside from being a stunning once in a lifetime experience, it really gives a great perspective of the falls that you don't get from the ground.
    Victoria Falls town is known to have wild animals often roaming the streets, including elephants, hyenas, and wild dogs, so they warn you about walking the streets after dark. Luckily all I encountered was some warthogs chilling on the side of the road!
    Read more