Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Greenery Day

    May 4, 2017 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    I just about managed a quieter day today; not racing around Tokyo like I'm on a mission, but ambling around my local area discovering little things. That felt better, though following every thought that 'that looks interesting over there' or 'while I'm here I could just ...' does end up tiring too!

    Anyhoo I had a great start as the only person at the Taiko Drum Museum. They have a really interesting collection of drums and other percussion from all over the world, and most you can play. Super cool fun.

    Yesterday I got a tip-off about a local supermarket with a much better range, so I grabbed some bits for a picnic lunch and headed towards Sakurabashi (great x-shaped bridge over the Sumida River) and the parks on both banks. Really that sums it up, but I found some interesting bits and pieces along the way.

    And I had my first drink of coffee in over 20 years (eugh!) all down to walking past a Buddhist temple and ending up in conversation (being a BH they were out on the street greeting people). One lady nipped to buy me a coffee, which was very kind of her, but utterly undrinkable for me, so we watered a bit down - happy all round!
    Read more