Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Windsor!!! Denise is so happy!

    May 24, 2019 in England ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Well, we were a little late getting started, and seeing how the iPads keyboard is dead, I’m trying to do this post from my phone. So Doc, I know you are going to be checking my grammar and to that I say 😝. To be honest, your grand daughter is doing a fine job, actually both of them, of telling me about my errors!

    We had a slow start to the day, even though Denise and I woke up at 7:30 am. I really thought we’d have no trouble getting up, but Taylor and I channeled our inner Connor and discovered that we could sleep as long as we needed to! We did manage to get going and after a really good breakfast (I honestly don’t remember them being this good!) we got started and headed to Windsor.

    Denise and I were here in the late 90’s and didn’t get a chance to go in due to the fire. She’s been really excited for this and I think it lived up to the expectations. Honestly, if Daniel Craig had showed up shirtless, I think she still would have chosen Windsor (though we may not have seen Taylor or KK again!). After parking in King Edward the VII’s car park, where apparently midget cars used to park, we strolled up the road and around the corner to the castle. Once there, we stared at an hour long queue waiting to get into the castle - ugh 🤢🤮. Fortunately, we had Denise and she wasn’t about to be stopped by a bunch of Asian and US tourists standing in a line. Striding up to the gate and declaring, I am woman, hear me roar.... the attendant told her the line was for people in coach tours and we could just walk up! Crisis averted (though I was scared she was just telling me that and at any moment the Bobbies would be coming for me!

    As it turned out, there was still a queue, only it was 30 minutes, and much to Tay’s dismay, there was not a Harry Potter ride at the end of it! About the only excitement we had was when KK and all her “coins” got pulled over after the x-ray machine. Tay kept telling me we should chant “Lock her up!” But I reminded her that she needed her for London!

    As it turned out, we had another gorgeous morning and the castle/palace was awesome. Hard to believe it’s been here since the 1100’s and been lived in by the royals for over 800 years...I’m pretty sure they’ll be talking about the poor girl whose parents wouldn’t let her decorate her chocolate bar for another 800 years!
    Read more