Satelital
Mostrar en el mapa
  • Día 10

    Et Voila

    20 de julio de 2023, Francia ⋅ ☁️ 72 °F

    I am in France, on the correct local train, on my way to where I want to be.

    I have been in the country for about five minutes and the three people with whom I have spoken have failed utterly to conform to the stereotype that the French are intolerant of Americans.

    Well, except for the ticket machine. It was downright ornery. It allowed me to select English and proceeded to give every prompt in French. Merde!

    Amusingly, my phone coverage has yet to catch up with the international evolution of my journey.... Which makes it <très impossible> to pay with my phone.... And my credit card was deep in my pack. More excitement! Fortunately for me, I have more than 50 days practice with unpacking/packing : <aucun problème>

    The train is rolling now... I had 7 minutes to spare and will go ahead and add a mental ✅ to the win column.

    I really like that my international border crossing consisted of leaving a Spanish metro station in Hendaia, walking 50 meters, entering a French train station in Hendaye. Delightful. The two pics are taken in the same place, incidentally.
    Leer más