Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Marseille in 42 hours

    July 24, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 84 °F

    Parting is such sweet sorrow.

    I added Marseille to my itinerary rather last-minute as I had forgotten that I have people there.

    About 8 years ago, I lived with an awesome French roommate in SF. We have sorta stayed in touch, but not nearly enough to feel comfy inviting myself for more than a quick visit. What a mistake! Marseille merits at least a week. There's a lot to see and I barely scratched the surface.

    I did enjoy a gorgeous day sunbathing* by the sea, yummy food, a late-night (early morning) DJ fueled night out, a bike ride along the water, a sunrise swim workout, sunset drinks with a view, a lot of people watching, rooftop Rose with three beautiful women, pain au chocolat, a fantastic home-cooked dinner, and some fine meanders through the streets and alleys of Marseille. All that in about 42 hours ain't bad at all!

    The best part was spending time with Perrine and Romain, and I genuinely look forward to my next visit (and theirs to me).

    One of the troubles- I often reflect- with travel is that the more places I go and people I meet... The less content I am to stagnate in a single place. It's also tricky sometimes to stay close while far away. That may be the biggest redeeming feature of social media.

    *Which includes my 1st swim in the Mediterranean Sea!
    Read more