Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Vicenza Sunshine and Lightning

    July 25, 2023 in Italy ⋅ 🌧 70 °F

    I'm so happy that I chose to add a visit to Italy, and to Vicenza in particular.

    Francesca was the exchange student who stayed with 'my' Spanish family two years prior to my stay and she returned for a brief visit while I was there.

    So we have stayed in distant touch for the last 30 years and I've enjoyed watching her life via social media and common connections.

    When I was in Vigo, I was inevitably reminded of her by location and family ties so I reached out to see if she and her husband are available for a quick visit 'on my way' to Croatia.

    "Of course!"

    And here I am! Enjoying two nights in their lovely home just barely outside the city of Vicenza. Reconnecting after so much time has been easy and nourishing. We have been speaking Italian, Spanish, and English and sometimes all three. I love it!
    Read more