Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Sailing Again! ⛵ Vis, Croatia

    August 3, 2023 in Croatia ⋅ 🌬 82 °F

    The wind was up to ~15-20 kts for most of the day and we made the most of it, sailing several long tacks at 10-12 knots with a partially reefed main, then we sailed just the jib while waiting for other boats to get rafted up.

    The sailing was superb. This More 55 really does well near the wind and while it wallows a bit with a following sea, it was still surprisingly comfortable with 12 people in the cockpit.

    I'm sure we could have squeezed a few knots more with some moving of human ballast and trimming of sails.... Perhaps someday.

    To me the best part was getting people involved. Most of the crew is new to sailing and was showing trepidation about sailing fast... And by the end I feel that most were having a good time (or at least smiling sometimes).

    We arrived to Vis in the afternoon, played in the water for a while, then napped up for the evening's dinner and final DJ party at Ft. George. The dinner was beautiful, on the quay with stone buildings glowing in the sunset. The fort was visually spectacular and moderately crowded, a private party again but with an obvious drop in attendance. It seems I am not the only one who has used up his party-quota for the week. The dj was my least favorite. Maybe I'd feel differently if I were less exhausted.

    I'd like to explore Vis some more but am glad to have had the chance to really sail again. It may impact the direction of the rest of my travel, we shall see.
    Read more