Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Seaside Waterfall

    August 20, 2023 in Turkey ⋅ ☀️ 84 °F

    The Düden River courses down from the mountains and passes through Antolya to hurl itself off of a seaside cliff into the Mediterranean Sea, gloriously beautiful.

    I really enjoyed standing on the land upwind of the spray and watching the interplay of sunlight, salt water, freshwater, and air.

    If I add some fire and we would have all of the elements present.

    I got a coffee. That's like fire, right?

    This place is truly a wonder. It pains me that they've dubbed the vista point "Düden Wonderland" but then, here I am with a busload of people lazily being shown this majestic phenomenon. I shouldn't throw stones.

    Instead I'll enjoy it. There's cool water and slight breeze to mitigate the impact of a day in the mid-80s (high 20s C) with humidity over 90%. The mist roiling up from the sea is like a gargantuan swamp cooler.

    I am sure that I won't regret taking an option that includes AC, today.

    Besides, I tell myself, I am still recovering from a challenging bout of accelerated intestinal transit. It's good to give myself the more gentle tour today, even if it offends my inner "I am a traveller not a tourist" sense of self. Self, we are a tourist today. Sorry.

    The coffee is delicious.
    Read more