Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Paros Day 1.5

    August 25, 2023 in Greece

    The ferry dropped me at the harbor and I, with an urgency I don't really understand, immediately found my bus to Naoussa... Just a few km away.

    I backpacked a short 1/2 km and checked into my super-cute 'studio' (hotel room w/ the tiniest kitchen ever). Managed to harvest some figs along the way to fuel the journey.

    After a quick nap I took myself for a swim in the Aegean. I have a 2-swim/day minimum rule to maintain, after all.

    This town/island is cute in much the same ways as Naxos. Other than the joy of discovery I don't know that there is much reason to waste hours on a ferry to island hop.

    There are surely many places on Naxos that I left unexplored. No worries! It's fun to see a different view, anyway. And the port in Naoussa is cute as a button with authentic looking greek fishing boats lined up.

    The town itself: White! Blue! Alleys and cobbles. Flowers everywhere. Ample shopping, drinking, and dining opportunities. I had a delicious chocolate sorbetto, but at €4.50 for two scoops it handily tops the list for most expensive iced treat, in Europe (so far).

    After a nap, a swim, a stroll, and a shower... I headed out for a sunset beverage and then a delicious dinner of cuttlefish and spinach. Fresh, simple, perfect with the sesame-crusted bread and mild white wine that they served.

    It bears mentioning (again?) that I am wholly unimpressed by local wines here. They're low priced and light on flavor. Not bad... Just a little boring. Maybe tonight I'll try a finer vintage, see if that changes anything.

    I enjoyed the evening stroll home watching happy vacationers dressed in summery clothes. It's a little slice of paradise.
    Read more