Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Cairo Tour

    August 31, 2023 in Egypt ⋅ ☀️ 91 °F

    Today was disappointing.
    I (over)paid for a tour that I thought would be better. We dashed through a museum that I could have enjoyed just fine with a guidebook, not a guide; saw some churches and a mosque, also rather quickly. I assumed that the velocity was due to a long list of locations, and rolled with it but in the end it was just half-assery by the guide.

    August means things aren't crowded, which is great. But it is hot. Very.

    We toured the great Khan el-Khalili market which was cool, but I don't want to buy anything and the light crowds meant I wasn't really seeing anyone else buying. It also meant I was the sole benefactor of most of the seller's attention.... 'fun'

    The day wrapped up with eating a crappy lunch and 'touring' a perfume 'factory' and then a papyrus 'factory'.… each a hard sell with a fun demonstration. I learned a little in each and I bought some lovely-smelling lotus blossom extract for much more than it's worth.

    I did get to see Cairo, check out some awesome mummies, learn about Egyptian history and the present day. All good stuff.

    I was preoccupied by some totally unrelated troubles in a different part of my life and that cast an unwelcome shadow on my experience, too.

    But all in all, it was a bit of a disappointment. Sometimes travel does that. I'm still very glad to be here and excited to have included Egypt in my itinerary!
    Read more