Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 90

    Expectations and Warm Bread

    October 8, 2023 in Mayotte ⋅ ⛅ 81 °F

    Going to a bakery when you're hungry...
    The smell of bread fresh from the oven...
    I'll take three.

    Life is good.

    Simple Pleasures

    I'd do a shot of steam rising from the hot delicious loaf except it's in the high 70s (mid 20s) and 90% humid.... no steam can persist within this steamy weather.

    Still tastes amazing.

    Also I get the chance to see just how much my French has improved. I can now order food with minimal "what on earth are you saying?" Looks from the friendly gal behind the counter. A big step forward vs the 1st time I was here. When was that? Feels like yesterda-lastmonth.

    I'm glad that my meanders brought me to where I am. I certainly didn't expect to be here, scooting to a French bakery on an African isle. If someone had asked me even two months ago, there is zero % chance I'd have accurately described anything about today except: pet some dogs, eat some pain au chocolat, sip some coffee*. Life is fun that way.

    *Ok, also: I'll be wearing graying shorts and a blue shirt. Because _that_ happens dang near every day.
    Read more