Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 96

    Wish I Had A....

    October 14, 2023 in Madagascar ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    One of the amusing side effects of this unplanned sortie has been that I don't have: many things.

    I haven't weighed it recently but my pack was 8kg in Croatia. I'd guess it is similar now but let's round up to 10kg just in case. That's 22lbs.

    I forget the exact capacity, but it is nearly 35liters. That, by most metrics is a large day-pack.

    And yet ... I have been fine with it for almost five months on the road in a dozen countries and three continents.

    Still.... I do find myself frequently wishing I had something or another. Today? Some sort of mount for my GoPro. All I have is a floatie handle and I would really like to capture some imagery of me wingfoiling so I could share it. Yeah, I want to brag a little. That's part of it.

    But also I'd like to share something other than sunrise/sunset and pics of me reading a book in the shade are even less interesting than me learning how to fall off a foil board.

    The wind is fickle today, so maybe I will try to take out the camera. I dunno if I will even be able to get the foil up out of the water... But maybe!

    Until then.... here's my feet while I read, a friendly doggie, and a pretty splash of dawn's early light.
    Read more