Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Dag 103

    Every Beginning...

    21 oktober 2023, Madagaskar ⋅ ☀️ 73 °F

    ...is some other beginning's end.

    -or-

    Should I Stay or Should I Go?

    I'm oddly reluctant to hit the road from this pretty little windy bay in NE Madagascar.

    I arrived without a plan and have managed to avoid making much of one in the time I have been here.

    Madagascar is enormous: 144% the size of California, about the size of metropolitan France (the part in Europe). I'm a bit overwhelmed by the extent of things I could do and by the challenges of getting around. Roads/busses aren't easy here and local planes are notoriously unreliable - I hear many fly a day or four later than scheduled.

    I've been sitting by this white sand beach, reading my kindle, practicing French, and riding the wind for a few hours/day. I'm well fed, well rested, salty, sun-kissed, and have enjoyed an hour of massage nearly every day.

    Paradise? It might be. I'm certainly having a devil of a time departing towards an unknown city full of noise and bustle.

    Yet I want to see more of this marvelous country. I try to imagine going to California and only seeing one beach.... unacceptable to me.

    The way appears as we travel the way. Time to hoist my backpack and move along?

    After breakfast. And maybe another wing session. And perhaps lunch..... Maybe a night....
    Läs mer