Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 104

    Happily Still Here, and Tired

    October 22, 2023 in Madagascar ⋅ 🌬 84 °F

    Yesterday was emerald/turquoise waters and blue skies. I really thought I'd depart... But the wind picked up.

    Today is 25-30 knots and .... Emerald/turquoise waters and blue skies.... with waves.

    I just spent 2 hours getting my ego smooshed down and dunked, repeatedly. I was feeling pretty cocky after free-riding yesterday (letting the wing trail while I briefly foiled along a wave).

    So I spent about two hours doing jumpies with a kite, too. Great core workout. Ouch. And an ego boost as I kite much better than I foil.

    I finished the day by having dinner w the hotel owner and two other guests. They patiently pretended that my French is better than I think it is, which was fun. I learned, but quickly forgot, a hilarious French slang for sleeping*. Kinda like "hit the hay" but it translates roughly as "put the meat in the tea towel". I'll have to relearn it as this is just the sort of thing that makes learning a language fun.

    Today's high winds and choppy waves, with a much smaller/squirrelier wing (3.5m vs 6m), and a smaller, more 'performance' foil (1,500 vs 1,600) showed me that I have a lot of opportunity to practice and learn.

    Which is awesome! Because learning is fun, even if it means a few helpings of humble pie (washed down with ample salt water).

    I am so glad that I stayed a little longer. My body aches, my smile- muscles are worn out, and life feels good.

    * « mettre la viande dans le torchon »
    Can't wait to use this.
    Read more