Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 110

    Ask And Yea Shall Receive

    October 28, 2023 in Madagascar ⋅ ☁️ 77 °F

    It never hurts to ask.

    I arrived in Madagascar through an indirect and largely unplanned route.

    Being in a country renowned for biodiversity and endemic species means: nature hikes!

    Normally, nature hikes means: binoculars!
    I love the magic of bringing beauty right up close.

    My travels to date weren't of the birding persuasion and while I have occasionally wished I had binocs, I hadn't had a strong enough need nor opportunity to obtain decent quality. Until, that is, I was faced with a large group of friendly Scandinavians who were here having a lovely time with long camera lenses and... Binoculars.

    So when it came up that they were leaving for home, I asked someone if she would be willing to sell her binocs to me ... I'm delighted that she agreed.

    After a little logistical struggle, I've transferred an entirely reasonable amount of money from the USA to Norway, and am the proud new owner of almost-new swarovski 8x25 field glasses.

    This is the sort of feel good moment that makes me happy that I was raised by Bonnie Broyles- a woman who has never shied away from meeting her new friends at any destination.

    Let the adventure continue!
    Read more