Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 119

    Chapel Hike

    November 6, 2023 in Réunion ⋅ ☁️ 66 °F

    I had grand plans to hike the highest peak in the Indian Ocean but the weather was not cooperative so I opted for something lower and less exposed to the rain.

    I'm glad. "Le Chapel" canyon blew my mind.
    Absolutely spectacular. The canyon is the result of a river/waterfall steadily carving away space between teo massive walls of polished stone. Light creeps in through the cracks and refracts and reflects in patterns I could not capture. I wish that Inhad better imaging gear and more talent... But surely someone else has... Um... Hold on..... Here: https://flic.kr/p/crSnYS

    The hike there & back was strenuous: About 775m of vertical gain (~2,500ft) and involved some class 4 scrambling - especially on the slippery river rocks near the end. A good challenge and hard enough to make plunging into the cool water feel wonderful. I followed up the cool with my best imitation of being a lizard, baking on the sun-heated rocks for a while. Sheer bliss.

    I feel especially fortunate because the beginning and end of the hike was shrouded in misty clouds, but I enjoyed brilliant sunshine for most of the time I was playing in the canyon. Delightful.

    The hike itself, without the canyon, would still figure as an excellent one: soaring views of jagged mountains and luscious verdant vistas stretch for as far as the eye can see (or the mists allow).
    Read more