Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 127

    Blue Bay

    November 14, 2023 in Mauritius ⋅ ☁️ 82 °F

    Afternoon flights are tricky- one doesn't want to waste a day but one also does not want to embark on an adventure that could mean missing one's flight, doesn't one?

    One does
    Or doesn't
    I've lost track.

    Today's mini adventure was snorkeling in Blue Bay. I didn't break out the gopro, alas. The snorkeling was quite good. The coral reef looks like it has been healthier in the past, which makes me sad. I have to assume that scads of tourists kicking around with who-knows-what sunscreen* or soaps on their skin, as well as the outboard motors on the boats could be coupled with bleaching and acidification to make it hard to be a coral.

    Which could make me sad if I spend too much time thinking about how much our beautiful world is being degraded.

    But!

    There were abundant large fish to enjoy and I swam with a turtle. Better still, I got to show off the turtle to Nikki, my travelling companion for today. I think I like sharing marine turtle sightings as much as doing the sighting (I've seen a few by now).

    So the snorkel was a success!

    And it's only about 15 min to the airport, and they even had showers at the public bathroom on the beach. Truly a perfect way to fill some time en route to the plane.

    *Reef safe sunscreen is important. Please use it. Here's why:
    https://savethereef.org/about-reef-save-sunscre…
    Read more