Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 151

    Found Penguins!

    December 8, 2023 in South Africa ⋅ ☁️ 70 °F

    This would be a fantastic last post (in light of the website name).

    One of the many attractions to Cape Town is thst South Africa has done a marvelous job of protecting a colony of African Penguins. In the 80s there were only two breeding pairs left - the colony was being preyed upon by domestic animals, local fosh trawlers were out competing them for sardines, and human activity was encroaching. But that has been very successfully reversed and there are over 2,000 pairs today!

    I love to see a success story.

    The dodgy weather may be a blessing today. Apparently the penguins (not surprisingly) aren't big fans of heat.

    The overcast also makes the water spectacularly inviting and I confess I find myself wishing I could snorkel in this beautiful bay. I suspect that would be frowned upon.

    So.... Instead I paid my ~$10 to stroll on a very well maintained boardwalk and enjoy seeing hundreds of cute little aquatic birds just sorta hangin' out. They squeak and bray, they peck at each other, they waddle cutely. Birds.

    A highlight was seeing one dig out its burrow, throwing sand in the face of another. Yep. Fascinating antics. But seriously, a fun visit.
    Read more