Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 154

    Doha, Qatar

    December 11, 2023 in Qatar ⋅ 🌙 64 °F

    I've really enjoyed my experience with Qatar Airways and my 20hr layover in Qatar.

    I can see why they are often awarded "best airline".

    I won't dwell on the flight more than to say that the plane was comfy, the staff friendly, and they served 2 decent meals on a ~9hr flight, and wine.

    The best part however, was discovering that if one has a layover from 8-24hr in duration, in Doha, and there is not a more expedient option AND one is a member of their (free) premier club... Qatar Airways may just pay for a hotel, airport transfer, and meal voucher.

    It took a few minor run-arounds with their online chat, but the results were well worth it!

    I landed just before midnight and it took almost two hours to get into town to a nice hotel. The room, no... the Suite was spacious/clean and had a decent view of the skyline.

    I slept hard then lazed about in the big fluffy bed with sunshine streaming in the windows until I finally motivated to eat an absurdly overpriced buffet breakfast* (thanks, Airline!) And took myself for a meander.

    Doha is clean and really new-looking. My tour bus audio says that nearly everything has been built in the last 20-30 years and it looks true.

    After walking by the waterfront a bit I jumped onto a big yellow topless bus to get driven around. This city is large enough that walking wasn't feasible. I *can* walk 30km in a day but that wasn't the sort of day I wanted.

    So I sat. I people-gawked. I enjoyed comfy weather (dry and 80°F/27°C) and light breezes.

    My overall impression is that Qatar is like a nouveau riche and slightly insecure guy in his 30s. Everything is flashy and big and a little over the top with an apparent emphasis on what other people are going to think instead of what is actually beautiful or otherwise merits investment.

    That's not to say it's bad, per se. As Kevin Spacey famously quipped in Midnight in The Garden... "It's the riche that counts"
    This city is dripping with wealth. Ferrari/Rolls dealers, giant fancy architecture, they've built islands, for goodness sake.

    In the end it feels like a less sleazy version of Vegas.

    So I enjoyed my tour and boogied back to the hotel where I miserably observed that I had failed to pack swimmies in my carry on. I know better than that! So I didn't enjoy the rooftop pool, but did squeeze in a quick workout in my spacious suite before a rushed (grossly overpriced) snack of hummus, stuffed grape leaves, and watermelon juice (Thanks, Airlines!).

    All in all, a very good day.
    Read more