Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Wrong side of the bed

    June 5, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    Woke up this morning having not got to bed till 2 pm courtesy of the wall between the 'private' room and the kitchen being an office partition. At 11:30 I finally went in and asked the remaining 2 guys to talk in their room, they were very apologetic but I felt it off sorts and alien and I realised later pretty lonely. I got woken just before 6 and got up feeling a little footsore and had a hot shower which helped immensely and was on the road by 6:30 feeling tired, a bit grumpy and shaking the dust of La Espina from my feet.

    My day made an immediate upturn upon meeting Jose sans his lovely wife Maria who we passed back and forth with on the lat few hours of yesterday with. Apparently she decided to sleep in and take a taxi 🚕 a decision that sounded very smart to me. Jose was walking much faster on his own + no pack so he headed off which was good as we had reached the limits of our shared language. Well mostly his shared language.

    Mary and Joseph came upon me yesterday I was talking to a horse 🐎 (not the one below but somewhat similar) and I was trying to reassure them I was not totally crazy and Jose said no problem Steven from New Zealand who talks with horses. (I guess their are worse sobriquets).I then had a recollection of which I was very proud cabello (horse right) he shakes his head, not a word caberro - ah yes the double ll as 'r'. I was still pretty proud 'Steven who can spell horse'

    So I trotted on still achy feet wondering about doing to take a nurofen but basically couldn't be bothered enough to hunt it ( that cow below was channeling my vibe) and little bit by little bit started feeling better. I reached my half way point in Tineo at 9:30 supposedly a bigger town but everything was closed so I pushed on and as I went out of the town the sun started to rise through the hills.
    Read more