Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Calgary and Los Angeles

    March 29, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Alright so this morning at 815 my flight was up up and away! My first flight was from saskatoon to Calgary and I met a guy named Dillion on the plane. He was a quiet civil engineer heading to Calgary for a brief business trip and would be returning the following day.

    Already I'm getting rather confused looks from people when I say I don't know exactly when I'm coming back or that I'm travelling alone. But that doesn't bother me. It's usually followed by a comment like "wow I'm jealous"

    On the plane I read about Brisbane which has officially been added to my australia itinerary! I really want to go see rainbow beach now!

    My flight into Los Angeles from Calgary was delayed about an hour. Which considering there was no WiFi in the airport was slightly frustrating. But I used my time well and finished up something that otherwise I would have put off indefinitely so as they say "everything happens for a reason" :)

    On my next flight I met Jeanette. She was a writing teacher at the u of s going to Los Angeles for a conference. She would be there for a the week and then fly home. Also this lady sitting behind me was going to melbourne and since we were late neither of us were sure if we would make Santa Monica work so she gave me a few other ideas of things to do! I also caught about 2 hours of sleep on the plane which was really refreshing and helped me get through the rest of the day!

    Upon getting into lax I still had no WiFi. Sure mom wasn't pleased about the lack of response but I'm fine so she'll live! Upon getting in I decided I'd make my way to Santa Monica pier after all 😊 on the shuttle to the bus terminal I met a nice German guy but I didn't catch his name. He was traveling for a couple months. He had already done Vietnam Thailand and Cambodia and this was his first time in America. But Cambodia so far was his favourite. So many nice people. But anyways I caught my bus just in time and off I went! 😊

    Not long into my bus ride a guy named Cameron popped into the seat beside me and he was quite an interesting man. A 23 year old who bounced around from Miami to Vegas to Portland to LA. He wanted to become a bartender but his real passion was rap. I thought that was a pretty sweet. Anyways he ended up pretty much walking me right to the pier because he worked only a few blocks away. What luck! :)

    The pier was beautiful! Unfortunately I was an incredibly windy day so I wasn't able to get as much out of Venice Beach as I had hoped. Was still pretty awesome feeling the waves come in and crash against my feet. I hadn't felt that since my explore days in Vancouver (NEVER STOP EXPLORING!)

    On the way back to the airport on the bus I watched a guy in his 50s reach into a small cooler he had, pull out a colt 45 (beer can) take a sip and put it back and he gave zero f**ks about it. It was fantastic.

    Now I'm back at the airport waiting for my flight and I will be off in about 3.5 hours. Yeah still a long layover but it's alright!

    Next time we chat I'll be on the other side of the world!😁

    -Terrence out
    Read more