Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Rough day but still so happy :)

    April 3, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    Okay so quite a day here!

    Decided to take a sailing tour of the islands. It was pretty beautiful. We spent two hours on one of the islands. I met a guy named phillip and we hung out for most of the day so we were Terrence and Phillip for the day haha.

    Our captain was Dave from Florida. Well technically from Florida but from the age of 9 his family and him travelled the world sailing. Like he legit did school on the sailboat. They even had a piano on board for music. Pretty incredible story. Dave gave me quite the flack for asking about sharks. And as you may have guessed...no i wasnt attacked by a shark because the NZ sharks really dont bother humans which is more than okay by me.

    On the island we borrow the two kayaks and explored a bit. Water started to get into the kayak so i put took my phone put of my pocket and put it on my lap. That was a mistake. As i attempted to get pulled back on board i forgot about my phone and just like that it fell into the water. I kinda just went into shock and watched it sink. By the time i realized what had happened it was too deep for me to feel comfortable going in. After a minute or so of panic this Austrian guy who looked and sounded like Chris Hemsworth (seriously) stepped up and was like Ill get it for you. So he dived in and about five minutes later he was able to find it and bring it to shore. I asked his name and he said mike. I was like are you kidding me!? Another Mike has saved my ass haha. My phone was still working at that point so theres hope. After that I turned it off.

    When we got back to shore i bought rice and ever since its been sitting in it. I think to give it the best chance for survival ill give it until the end of tomorrow at least. I also bought myself some noodles and some breakfast for tomorrow.

    Early evening was pretty much just me bumming around until about eight when I headed back to thirty30. Tonight was jam night and it was so cool! It was a bunch of locals and travellers alike just jumping on stage and playing their hearts out. Any instrument could jump in whenever. The instruments involved are below:

    Tribal drum
    Regular drum set
    Guitar
    Bass
    Violin
    Harmonica
    Saxaphone
    Tamberine
    Electric guitar

    I also met a few of the musicians and Sophie a girl from the UK who was pretty sweet and had cycled from the south island all the way up to Paihia which was an incredible accomplishment if i do say so. By about 11 i left but i wasnt ready to go home just yet so i veered off the road towards the shore again but went the other way. I found this little cove with almost no light from the town and just a little bit from the island across the bay. The stars were AMAZING. In fact im writing this whole post from just underneath them (on my ipod). So beautiful 😊

    Just got home. Had a 10 minute dance party along the shore for my walk home to starlight by neverest and dance and love that lasts by tim halperin. What a lovely way to end the night. Big day trip in the morning so ive got to sleep now. Take care everyone and chat soon!

    -Terrence (and possibly his phone) out
    Read more