Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Off To Franz Josef!

    April 14, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    Today I spent 10 hours on a bus to get to Franz Josef. On the way out if Nelson I saw a street named called Whereama and I thought it was be an absolutely hilarious place to try and ask for a ride home. Like "buddy where are you?" "Whereama!" "Yeah man where are you!?" ...my sense of humor is pretty poor as you can tell. On the way out of town I saw this neat mall where on the bottom was little stores and on top was an apartment complex. It actually looked beautiful and I liked the idea.

    For the first hour I had WiFi but after that it stopped working which made the next 9 hours incredibly long. I curled up in the back seat and lay across 3.5 seats. I had probably five different naps during the day out of pure boredom. Around 1 the bus filled up so I had to sit up like everyone else. The scenery was beautiful but even that gets tiresome after 9 straight hours.

    Upon checking into the hostel I learned that there was free soup at six and free sushi at seven. What a deal! I briefly chatted with my new hostel roommates. One from Phillipines and one from Wisconsin. Then I headed to the common area to enjoy the free food.

    I met a few girls who were nice enough, and a Belgian guy who gave me a free beer (score) but then I met the most amazing family. Max, Henry, Bianca, Colleen and Ron were an American family that up and sold everything they had 3 years ago and had been traveling ever since. So freaking cool. I chatted with Ron (the father) for quite a while about their adventures, as well as my own, and how they did it. Ron's grandfather was Italian so they were able to get Italian passports and from there they saw Europe piece by piece. They were so humble. A bunch of us sat and played uno with the children. Bianca was even my partner for the game and she seemed quite alright with being partners even though we came 3rd out of 4 teams. Colleen (the mother) shared her blog with me so I'll definitely be keeping up with that when I can! The website is www.livology.com if anyone else is curious! 😊

    I spent the rest of the night just hanging out writing the rest of my blog. But it's about 11 and I'm exhausted. Going to go hiking tomorrow with the Belgian guy Adrien that I met earlier this evening so that should be interesting. No idea what we will get into but I'm sure it will be beautiful! Nighty night!

    -Terrence out
    Read more