Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Roberts point

    April 15, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Today was beautiful. Woke up around 830 and headed to the communal area for free breakfast. Cereal toast and jam. Probably one of the more filling breakfasts I've had here.

    Around 1030 Adrien and I set out on our adventure. Before we could start our hike we had to get to franz josef car park. We walked about halfway and then got picked up by this older Argentinean couple. They were really sweet and it saved about 3km of walking so that was great.

    Our hike was a total of about 5 hours including our lunch break. We only took one bag and Adrien ended up carrying it for most of the time which was nice. This was by far the trickiest hike I have done while in NZ, actually probably in all my life. The landscape was beautiful and so natural but that also meant it was not exactly a trail walk. Wet stones and rocks made it slippery and at times tough to maneuver. At one point I kind of twisted my ankle but it was quite minor so I was able to carry on without any issue.

    Once we got to Robert's point we had a picnic lunch. I had a chicken and lettuce pita which was nothing special but given how hungry I was it really hit the spot. We sat and enjoyed the views for almost half an hour before going back the way we came from. Today I learned that if it's hard going up, it will probably be even more tricky coming down. Towards the bottom we met two other guys. Waleed was from France and Ezra was from the US. We ended up getting a ride back to town with them. Adrien and I ended up sharing the front seat which was less than comfortable, but quite entertaining to be a part of.

    After we got back to the hostel I had a much needed shower and then took a few hours to myself. Then we had free soup again at 6 and at 7 Adrien, and I were joined by Emma from London and Nick from Bristol for a few drinks. Emma and I shared a litre of cider at the first place and then I had a stout beer at the second place. For someone who doesn't like coffee the beer was actually quite good. Speights really can't do any wrong. We all played a few games of pool and I may or may not have showed off a little bit.

    Emma is going back to Queenstown tomorrow and staying for quite some time so I'll have to catch up with her again in about a week's time once I'm there! Here I am just relaxing in the hostel now watching the wedding planner with a few british girls. Gonna call it a night right away. Going to take it easy this weekend. Nighty night.

    -Terrence out
    Read more