Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Hit the Ground Running in Sydney!

    May 8, 2016 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    So after I got back to my room last night I met a few new faces. Scott was from Calgary and Ivan was from Italy. Later Owen and Katie from Ireland joined us and we spoke of travels and Ed Sheeran haha. Speaking with the Irish couple definitely made me miss Ireland and remember how much I loved the accents and the people. Also Scott told me I MUST go to fraiser island while I am in Australia so i looked it up and I think he's right. I'll book everything tomorrow!

    Anyways I caught my flight with zero problems. Only about an hour flight before arriving in Sydney! Upon arrival I got my bags and jumped in the shuttle to my hostel (which was pretty convenient!).

    By 2pm I had checked into my hostel and met up with my friend Reece. Him and I had met back in Dresden and had traveled together for nearly a week before I had to go home. Anyways we set out on a small walk before heading to the SCG (Sydney cricket grounds) for my very first Australian football game! Reece even gifted me a Sydney Swans jersey to wear to the game and take back to Canada with me!

    The game was pretty tight in the first quarter but by halftime sydney had a decent lead and by the end of the game Sydney ended up winning 135-54. Franklin and Heeney were the all stars with a total of something like 68 points between the two of the alone! Needless to say I did quite enjoy learning the game and am officially a sydney swans fan! 😊

    After we caught the bus back into the circular quay and did a small tour. I got to see the harbor bridge and the opera house under all the lights and they were both stunning and beautiful in their own way.

    We decided to spend the evening in a german pub called Munich Brauhaus for sentimental reasons (because I never made it to Munich which would have been our last stop together!). From what I could tell it was a very authentic pub right from the look of the pub to the steins to the outfits the bartenders were wearing. There was even a german band playing and singing on stage along with occasional yoddles!

    When we finished up at the pub we started our trek back to the hostel. On the way we bought some street Kebabs, again for sentimental sake. And that was pretty much our night. Hopefully I'll catch him once more before I leave Sydney!

    Sunday May 8, 2016

    Today was pretty much a write off. I left the hostel around noon to get some groceries and after that I stayed in all day. The weather wasn't bad but it also wasn't great so I decided to spend the day planning out my remaining time away from home. I booked hostels for the next two weeks and almost all my transportation as well! Overall it was a very successful day but I still have a few loose ends to tie up.

    I had dinner in the hostels basement bar. It was a beef roast with roast potatoes and yorkshire pudding. It was really delicious and surprisingly cheap! There I met Aaron who was from England and we played a few games of pool before retreating to our rooms. I still had a bit more planning so I went back to the lobby to use the computers where I met Sarah from Newcastle. We has good chats about our journeys and ultimately had a nice silver needle white tea which is supposed to be really good for you!

    Anyways that's it for the past few days! Two more days in Sydney and then I'm off again! Take care out there!

    -Terrence out
    Read more