Satellite
Show on map
  • León To La Robla

    September 29, 2019 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    The nun’s woke the albergue up at 6:00 am sharp this morning. This was ok with me, as I wanted to get an early start. I ate a couple of yogurts that I bought the night before, and hit the trail.

    Following the arrows, I came across the point where the Camino Frances and the San Salvador split. Armed with water, a almond chocolate bar, and a spare bocadillo, I set out. Once I was out of town and into the hills, I could hardly put my camera away. It is a beautiful woodsy trail with great scenery. No crowds either.

    It was a hilly 27 kilometres, but it felt great. On the trail, I was joined by a Spanish guy who has taken holidays to do this Camino. His name is Juan, and works in Alicante for a company that does international work. By an amazing coincidence, it turns out he works at the same place as our friend Petya Ninova !

    Anyway in La Robla we have a beautiful albergue here tonight with a great group of pilgrims doing this Camino. There is Juan, a Swedish young guy named Christopher who speaks English as well as perfect Spanish, and an older Spanish women named Manuela.

    Tomorrow we climb 1.5 vertical kilometres! Should be extra brooootal.
    Read more